top of page

Professional Show and Tell

Updated: Jan 25, 2023

The Code of Ethics urges social workers to contribute to the knowledge base of the profession, but the vulnerability of sharing our work can be paralyzing and the undertaking to advance the profession overwhelming.

.

Every day I hear about the remarkable work of students and colleagues, but when I ask about how they are disseminating their experiences and knowledge more broadly I see their eyes glaze over. Can you relate?


Check out this Q & A from my recent conversation with LMSW Courtney Haworth about what she learned doing her first professional presentation.





Q: What 3 things did you learn from your first presentation that you would want other first timers to know?


A: The first thing I learned was that the first walk-through of your presentation is the hardest. I stumbled my way through my research poster the first time, but after that I developed a rhythm and was able to share more concisely with the subsequent attendees. The second thing I learned is that it’s more than okay to not have an answer to a question. Several folks asked really insightful questions that were outside the scope of my research, and I found that it was helpful to acknowledge those things rather than try to make up an answer. The third thing I learned was that it is worth it. All of the preparation and edits and nerves are worth the pride you feel when you’ve worked hard on a project and get to share the findings with others.

Q: What motivated you to share your work?


A: I was motivated to share my research partly from the recommendation of my supervisor at work and partly from the desire to help others see what I have been learning through my analysis of the qualitative data. I hoped that by creating a research poster and sharing it with healthcare professionals, I could begin conversations about the effect of both food insecurity and the COVID-19 pandemic on the mental health of rural Americans. I am motivated to continue sharing this work to hopefully encourage change on a macro level.

Q: How did you decide what audience you wanted to share your work with?


A: Because my research focused on mental health insights, I decided to share it with the doctors, residents, and other healthcare professionals at a health research forum. Though I am not a healthcare professional, I thought that this audience might be interested in the results of our study regarding mental health. I am glad I made this decision because I had great engagement from the medical professionals who attended the poster presentations.

Q: What encouragement would you offer those who aren’t sure that what they are working on/have to say/share is significant enough?


A: I would say, recognize those doubts as “imposter syndrome” and then remind yourself that you’re doing good work that matters. I was presenting outside of my field, and I dealt with the initial doubts of submitting the proposal for fear that my presentation wouldn’t be accepted. Once it was accepted, I wrestled with the thought that no one would come to my presentation or engage with my research poster. These are normal thoughts and feelings to have, but they are not the truth. Your work is valuable, and people want to hear what you are learning and sharing. Remind yourself that your work is important and that’s why you need to share it!

Q: Any additional helpful hints?


A: Ask your friends, colleagues, former professors, trusted mentors, etc. to read through your presentation beforehand and provide edits. If it’s virtual, record a practice run-through and get their feedback, edits, and comments. Remember that you’re an expert in something and no one knows the same things you know. Your experience matters and your work is important.


As she said "…you’re doing good work, your experience matters matters." What if your work is the professional development your colleague needs to do their work better? I hope Courtney's insights encourage you to believe in yourself and find ways to show and tell professionally.


Building a professional community or network can help promote your career pathway as well as support your professional confidence. The GROW Community stands ready to be an ally to you for the life of your career. You can join the community today on LinkedIn (GROW Development Institute). Let's connect and support each other. Ask questions, offer advice, and chat! The more engaged you are, the more you will get out of the community.


What can the GROW community do to support your efforts?



IMG_0458.heic

Hi, there!

I'm TK Neal and I'm committed to building a supportive community and resources that influence your professional self-care and development. Topics for this blog are selected to help purpose driven students and practitioners design and activate the career pathway they desire. 

 

If you have a suggestion for a topic I invite you to email me

Tracey@professionalselfcare.com

  • LinkedIn

Professional Self-Care

Professional Self-Care is “the process of purposeful engagement in practices that promote effective and appropriate use of the self in the professional role…” How would you assess your professional self-care competence?

Subscribe

GROW with us!

bottom of page