top of page

What is "real" and what is "faux" self-care?

Every weekend my feed is flooded with posts reminding me to take some time to slow down, listen, and care for myself. This 10 Ways to Love Yourself infographic is an excellent example of something I saw in a post this past weekend. Does this post look familiar to you?


The suggestions in this graphic are great and I support all of them, but...


🤔 I hope this weekend concept of taking care of ourselves doesn't complicate our quest for "real" self-care and transformative systemic change.


Let's talk about this, it's important. ⤵


Are you using self-care to manage symptoms, treat them, or transform how you live your life?


To support your discovery, check out this NPR interview with psychiatrist Pooja Lakshmin, MD about her work with clients and her new book, Real Self Care: Crystals, Cleanses and Bubble Baths Not Included - https://lnkd.in/gski_RuT


How can GROW support your self-care journey and practice?




IMG_0458.heic

Hi, there!

I'm TK Neal and I'm committed to building a supportive community and resources that influence your professional self-care and development. Topics for this blog are selected to help purpose driven students and practitioners design and activate the career pathway they desire. 

 

If you have a suggestion for a topic I invite you to email me

Tracey@professionalselfcare.com

  • LinkedIn

Professional Self-Care

Professional Self-Care is “the process of purposeful engagement in practices that promote effective and appropriate use of the self in the professional role…” How would you assess your professional self-care competence?

Subscribe

GROW with us!

bottom of page