top of page

Are you asking the right questions?

Updated: Jun 22, 2023


Asking the right career questions helps you maximize your potential. Discussing your strengths and challenges increases your connection to your work and the energy you put into it.


Let's start the conversation by talking to ourselves.


As part of my professional self-care practice, I ask myself a list of questions at the end of each year. Below I have included my full list of questions. You can adapt these question to use at other times as well. I use them to reflect on the past and to set my intentions for the future.


I invite you to carve out some time, sit somewhere quiet and take a deep dive into these questions. If you want, I encourage you to create and share your own questions.



1. What was the biggest surprise from the past year?

2. What was the smartest decision I made?

3. What was the biggest risk I took?

4. How have I seen myself grow?

5. Who were the people that had the greatest impact on my career in 2022? and/or What are five ways people have helped me in the last year?

6. Who are the most important people in my network, and how effectively am I building and maintaining relationships?

7. What did I spend too much time or energy on this past year? And what do I want to do more and less of in the coming year?

8. What goals did I accomplish?

9. What am I most proud of?

10. How did I celebrate my wins?

11. How did I recover from my failures?

12. Do I have unfinished business?

13. What is one thing that happened that I would change if I could?

14. Over the next year, what principles, truths, and values will guide my professional endeavors?

15. What is my primary concern about the future?

16. What are my limitations? What held and/or is holding me back? How can I overcome each of these factors?

17. Do I have limiting thoughts about what is possible for my career?

18. What do I want to accomplish in the coming year, and how will I set myself up for success?

19. What learning do you want to pursue in the coming year?

20. How would you describe the year you want to have?

Here are a few bonus discussion questions because #diversityequityinclusion and #relationshipsmatter :

  • How can I be a better colleague and or boss?

  • What are my opportunities to lead? What do I need to do this successfully?

  • How do I find value in my differences with colleagues?

  • What are my opportunities to advocate for change and apply constructive feedback?

Are you ready to activate the best version of yourself or your team? GROW Workshops and Trainings are designed to support the professional self-care of social work students, educators and practitioners and/or address interdisciplinary professional development, skills, and knowledge needs of social workers. If you are looking for a workshop or training for yourself or your team please email me Tracey@professionalselfcare.com

IMG_0458.heic

Hi, there!

I'm TK Neal and I'm committed to building a supportive community and resources that influence your professional self-care and development. Topics for this blog are selected to help purpose driven students and practitioners design and activate the career pathway they desire. 

 

If you have a suggestion for a topic I invite you to email me

Tracey@professionalselfcare.com

  • LinkedIn

Professional Self-Care

Professional Self-Care is “the process of purposeful engagement in practices that promote effective and appropriate use of the self in the professional role…” How would you assess your professional self-care competence?

Subscribe

GROW with us!

bottom of page