top of page

Self-Care Doesn’t Work

Updated: May 3, 2023

A colleague of mine recently started a LinkedIn post with these words “Self-Care Doesn’t Work” and it got me thinking and curious to continue this dialogue here.


Is self-care working for you?


As individuals I think many if not most of us would acknowledge we have or seek a source from which to extend our vision beyond the (current conflict at home, frustration at work, you fill in the blank) to the possibilities for self and others.


For example: I rely on my source to extend my vision beyond todays annoyance with my co-worker to see the possibilities for our work together.


I would venture to say that many organizations would agree with this truth too meaning they desire for the organization to be willing and able to adapt, to prosper beyond the (fill in the blank) to develop and safeguard possibilities for the people and the communities they serve.


Self-care at least how I understand it and talk about it here builds, protects, and nurtures my source.


But what if it’s ability to work for me is only as powerful as I will allow it to be?

How might my perceptions about self-care be getting in the way of what it has to offer?

Am I making decisions that are contributing to my disillusionments about self-care?


For example, if I Google self-care, I will for sure find Yoga on a list of suggested activities. Does that mean I should I go get a mat and try it at home with the help of YouTube, or investigate signing up for a local class? Maybe. But maybe not.


Self-care is not a one size fits all or most. I can tell you right now that Yoga is not a good match for me. I don’t doubt the well documented benefits of this ancient practice, nor do I dispute that connection with mind and body is good self-care, or that going to a group class even Yoga with some friends might be a great way for me to practice self-care (because I love doing pretty much anything with my friends and I am always up for trying new things). I know myself though and I’m not the best at being quiet, sitting still…Therefore, me designing a self-care routine around Yoga classes or videos once a day, or even once a week would not be a successful venture for me. Instead, I might get frustrated with “self-care”, disillusioned about its benefits, feel guilty about spending money I didn’t put to good use…


Ask yourself today if self-care is working for you? Be honest. Think about how your perceptions and decisions about self-care might be getting in the way of what it has to offer you.


Dive deeper into professional self-care and the hurdles that might be tripping up your career in the following post: Self-Care Makes Me Feel Guilty and Helping Others is Easier than Helping Myself.








IMG_0458.heic

Hi, there!

I'm TK Neal and I'm committed to building a supportive community and resources that influence your professional self-care and development. Topics for this blog are selected to help purpose driven students and practitioners design and activate the career pathway they desire. 

 

If you have a suggestion for a topic I invite you to email me

Tracey@professionalselfcare.com

  • LinkedIn

Professional Self-Care

Professional Self-Care is “the process of purposeful engagement in practices that promote effective and appropriate use of the self in the professional role…” How would you assess your professional self-care competence?

Subscribe

GROW with us!

bottom of page